Last updated on 4 July 2022
LinkedIn is not like every other social media where it is all about fun; instead, it focuses on business and professionalism.
With that being said, it is not for everyone, and you might choose to delete your LinkedIn account when you realize this, or maybe you have gotten tired of having an account. Although if you are deleting to avoid certain people, you can simply block someone on LinkedIn.
This article outlines all the steps needed to delete your LinkedIn account, keeping in mind that doing so means you are permanently deleting your profile. Also, if you have a premium membership or account, you will need to dissolve that before deleting your basic account.
Follow these steps below to delete your LinkedIn account
- Go to the LinkedIn website and log in.
- Click on the Me icon, which appears at the top of your LinkedIn homepage, under your profile picture.
- Scroll through the drop-down menu until you find Settings & Privacy; click on it.
- Click on the Account Management button that is located in the Account preferences box on the left.
- Under the account management section, click on Change next to Close Account. (You can choose Change next to the Hibernate Account option, which will temporarily deactivate your account if you are not ready to delete it permanently).
- You will be asked to give a reason for deleting your account after selecting the above option, and also be given a chance to input additional comments. Once you are done, click on Next.
- Finally, input your account password. Once you have done this, select the Close Account option.
Things to know before permanently deleting your LinkedIn account
Choosing to delete your account permanently is a big step to take. You should have it in the back of your mind that you will lose access to some things once you delete your account. This is why you can choose to deactivate the account temporarily.
It takes seven days for LinkedIn to delete your account permanently. Once you click on close account, you will lose all recommendations and endorsements on your LinkedIn profile. If you ever want to create a new account, you will have to start from scratch. LinkedIn will completely wipe your profile from its database.
Lastly, you should be aware that even after seven days, search engines such as Yahoo, Google, and Bling can still temporarily display your information as it takes longer for them to update their results. You will need to wait for a couple of weeks for the software to update the search results.
LinkedIn gives you the chance to download a copy of your data before permanently deleting your account. So, once you choose to follow the steps above, you will still have access to a copy of your information.