Last updated on 19 May 2022
There are many different reasons why you might want to delete or disable your Instagram account. You may just want to take a break from social media, spend more time in reality, reduce your addiction, or even mental health reasons.
But, if you’ve had your Instagram account for a while and gathered up a big portfolio of memories, deleting it is a huge decision. If you want to delete your Instagram account, you can do so in less than five minutes. You can decide to disable it temporarily in case you change your mind in the future. But if you’re sure that you won’t regret your choice, you can delete it permanently following the steps below.
How to temporarily disable your Instagram account
You can temporarily disable your account if you’re unsure of deleting it permanently. By disabling it, you won’t lose anything such as followers or posts, and you can re-enable it whenever you want.
You can only disable your Instagram account from your browser, whether on your smartphone or computer. This is possible on your Android or iOS device. Follow these steps to disable your Instagram account temporarily:
- Log into Instagram using a browser app such as Chrome or Safari
- Open your profile and select ‘Edit profile‘
- Scroll down and select ‘Temporarily Disable My Account‘
- Choose the reason why you want to disable your account (look at our pro tip below)
- The option to deactivate your account will pop up
- Re-enter your password
- Select ‘Temporarily Disable Account‘
Pro tip – If you choose the reason you disabled your Instagram account because of too many ads, when you re-anable it, there will be hardly any ads that appear. A good way to get rid of ads.
How will my Instagram account appear to my followers when disabled?
Once the account is disabled, your account and posts will not be available for anyone to see. If someone clicks through to your handle from a post, it will say ‘User not found’. Your name handle will still appear though and it will show how many posts you have.
How to re-activate your disabled Instagram account
If you want to start using your Instagram account again after disabling it, you can follow these easy steps below:
- Launch the Instagram app on your Phone
- Login to your Instagram account
- The Instagram account will be restored automatically
Once you have reactivated your Instagram account, you will not be able to deactivate it again for another 2 weeks.
How to Delete Your Instagram Account Permanently
You can’t restore a permanently deleted account!
Once you delete your account, you lose all your followers, posts, likes, and comments forever. You won’t be able to restore it after deleting it, and it would take up to four minutes to get it done. Just like temporarily disabling your account, you need to use the browser on your laptop or smartphone.
Follow these steps to delete your Instagram account permanently:
- Click on this link in your browser. This is the page on Instagram to request to delete your account. If you’re not logged in on your browser, you will first be asked to log in with your username and password
- Select the reason why you want to delete your Instagram account from the dropdown box
- Click on ‘Permanently Delete My Account‘
- Enter your password
- Delete the Instagram account permanently
After 30 days of making this request, your profile and information will be deleted permanently from their system. It takes up to 90 days for all the content to be deleted from their system, but don’t worry, other people won’t be able to see your posts and content once you delete your Instagram account.
There you have it, that’s how to delete or disable your Instagram account. It’s up to you whether you want to completely delete it or only disable it for a little while. There is no time limit on how long you want to disable it for.
Either way, I hope you gain some positiveness from removing it and improve your life in some way!