There are a myriad of ways to know if someone blocked you on iMessage. Although you’ll never receive a notification that you’ve been blocked, iPhones are trusty little devices that can give you little clues as to whether this has happened.
Learning how to recognize the signs is helpful to know if someone no longer wants contact with you.
How to know if someone blocked you on iMessage:
- Try ringing them.
- Check for a “Delivered” notification.
- Check the colour of the most recent messages.
In the rest of this article, I’ll go through these options so you can know if someone blocked you on iMessage.
1. Try Ringing Them
This one might seem obvious, but in order to block someone on iMessage, you have to block their calls as well. One of the easiest ways to tell if you’ve been blocked is to give them a call and see if it goes through. If the call doesn’t connect, it may be a sign you’ve been blocked.
However, keep in mind that your call may not connect for many reasons (such as the lack of an internet connection), or perhaps their phone is on Do Not Disturb mode.
Typically, if the call rings once and then goes to voicemail every time you call, you’ve likely been blocked by the receiver.
2. Check for a “Delivered” Notification
If you’ve been using iMessage for a while, you’re probably familiar with the concept of “Delivered” or “Not Delivered” messages. These notifications (or the lack thereof) indicate whether you’ve successfully delivered your message to the other person.
If you’re blocked, the notification will either not appear at all or will appear in red beneath the message as “Not Delivered“.
3. Check the Color of the Most Recent Messages
Most of your messages will likely appear in blue if you use iMessage with an internet connection. This shows that the message has been delivered through an active internet connection to the other person.
A good way to know if someone has blocked your number on iMessage is to check to see if the colour has changed.
If previous messages were in blue, but your most recent messages have turned green (and don’t have a “delivered” message beneath them), chances are you’ve been blocked.
However, if the messages are still blue, you may still have been blocked. This happens if you have an active internet connection.
The only way you can tell if you’ve been blocked in this instance is by checking for a “delivered” message beneath it.
But don’t fret yet. Your messages may have turned green because the recipient doesn’t have an internet connection, so wait a while to see if they turn blue.
If they do, you’re in the clear. If they don’t, they’ve likely blocked you.
Although you won’t receive a message or notification when someone blocks you, there are ways you can tell if that’s the case. The best thing to do is give the above a try and wait a few hours to see if your messages go through.
There’s a chance the recipient doesn’t have an internet connection, so give it some time before you assume the worst.